• Site Last Updated on Wednesday 10 January 2018, 13:22:29 IST

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
Students perform on stage during Fancy Dress Competition at Mount Carmel School
Students perform on stage during Fancy Dress Competition at Mount Carmel School

Chandigarh, May 20, 2017 (Online News India): Inter House Fancy Dress Competition was organized by Mount Carmel School, Sector 47-B, Chandigarh, for the students of Classes VI to X today in the School premises. The day started with a Welcome speech by Juliana Marie Thomas, the Head Girl of the School. Then the School Choir presented a song ‘Dancing Queen’.

After this commenced the Fancy Dress Competition in which the students masqueraded as Press Reporter, Butterfly, Spiderman, Soldier, Milk man, Bhagat Singh, Subhash Chander Bose, Rani of Jhansi, Mother Teresa, Shiv ji, Krishan ji, Gandhi ji, Cartoon characters, The Mother Earth, News paper, Teacher etc. The wonderful performance put up by the participants was an evidence of the great potential that the budding talents have in them.

This was followed by Indian Classical Dance by the students of Classical Dance Club of the School. After this the students of Classes VI and VII presented a Western Dance performance followed by a scintillating Bhangra performance by the students of the School Bhangra Team. Gurleen, Theatre Artist and Jatinder Arora Nayyar, Kathak Dancer, were the Judges for this Competition. They gave prizes to the best four participants from each of the four groups in the competition.

 A Vote of Thanks was proposed by Nidhil Vohra, the School Captain Boy of the School and the programme ended with the National Anthem.

The list of prize winners is as given below:

Sub Junior Group (Classes IV and V): 1st Divya Langer of IV-B, 2nd Manya Sharma of V-A, 3rd Eklavya Lama of V-B, Consolation Bhavya Sharma of IV-A.

Junior Group (Classes VI and VII): 1st Maitri Bansal of VI-E, 2nd Tushar Rathi of VI-E, 3rd Harkanwal Singh of VI-E, Consolation Usha Kiran of VII-A.

Senior Group-II (Classes VIII and IX): 1st Yogain S. Singh of IX-D, 2nd Gunjan Sharma of VIII-A, 3rd Kinjal Chandel of VIII-B, Consolation Gunjan Jain of VIII-C.

Senior Group I (Class X): 1st Jasanpreet Kaur of X-B, 2nd Manjot Tanwar of X-A, 3rd Sidhi Taneja of X-C, Consolation Koena Sharma of X-B.

Senior Group (Classes XI and XII): Winner: Jinsa E. George of XI-A.

Other articles in Chandigarh

I desire to win the Mrs India World Crown - Anjali Raut Gill 22 May 2017

‘Saab Bahadar’ a journey full of mystery, fear and suspense 20 May 2017

Verka Goes Paperless, Adopts e-Office Mission Mode Project 18 May 2017

Journalists hold Walkathon to stay fit 29 Aug 2016

Former Kurukshetra University VC Discusses Shakespeare at MCM 19 Feb 2016

- Entire Category -